A Lovely Year of Finishes – June

So I just made it this month….I thought I’d get everything done easily, but no. I suppose I’ve had social stuff and extra work stuff all conspiring against me and my quilting. Nevermind, I did it even if is super last minute!

My proudest achievement this month is my finished Bee Strip.

This is the first time I’ve made flying geese and I have to say it wasn’t too bad. This is what they looked like before the strip…

flying geeseand afterwards…..(excuse the nasty brown carpet!)

finished strip bee

My geese however are the one thing I’m not sure about. I don’t know how much I like the line going through them, I think maybe it’s too thick or something, I don’t know. Overall though it was very fun to make. I may try and adapt it for a table runner, I may even write a tutorial for it, but that could be expecting too much!!

strip bee close up

Moving on……as usual here are my blocks….you must be getting bored of these by now!

Block 13

block 13

Block 14

block 14

Block 15

block 15

Actually I’m quite impressed at the fact that I’ve done all 15 in one month, when I looked back to my first post I was still choosing my fabrics.

I wanted to take a picture of these all together but unfortunately while there is some kind of mega heatwave elsewhere in the world here in the UK we have dark skies and rain so any attempts at photography are out of the question, instead I made a mosaic!

mosaic of city sampler blocks

Linking up to A Lovely Year of Finishes and Lily’s Quilts Fresh Sewing Day.

A Lovely Year of Finishes

Lily's Quilts

Just to remind you the Let’s Get Acquainted Blog Hop continues, here are the bloggers for this week…

Stitched in Thyme
Factotum of Arts
The Sassy Quilter
Faffling
So Sew Green
The Rainbow Revolts
Little Mushroom Cap
Kayak Quilting
Sew Sunshine

13 thoughts on “A Lovely Year of Finishes – June

  1. Love the rainbow of the bee strips. I think the black strip will be nice contrast and definition when it’s all finished. I like the staggered effect. Your city blocks are looking like a nice substantial collection now.

  2. I love that long strip. I think it looks great everywhere but the geese like you said. I think it is maybe because the geese lose their top point? I am not sure.
    That little chevron fabric block is precious.

  3. Pingback: Sunshine and Stars! | Cloud CouCou Crafts

Leave a comment