A Lovely Year of Finishes (and Starts!) – July Goals

I think this month is going to include more starts than finishes. There are lots of things I want to have a go at getting on with especially as the summer holidays are fast approaching which means fewer hours to play (in the crafty sense).

My main finish goal will be, of course, the next lot of City Sampler blocks. I’m happy to say I have caught up and even had my blocks done for the week on Monday..oh yes!

Block 16

block 16

Block 17

block 17

Block 18

block 18

One of the things I know I will be starting, but can pretty much guarantee I won’t be finishing is this embroidery:

embroidery on frame

Not joking this tiny section took about two hours, I must be going wrong somewhere!

Also Ali at Very Berry Handmade has had some offers on her gorgeous Liberty fabrics over the last week and I was lucky (and quick) enough to get me a mini bundle….

mini liberty fabric

Aren’t they pretty? They’re Liberty Lawn cotton which is so light and soft to the touch I feel I may have to buy more, oh dear!

I’m thinking of using them for a cushion cover..something with little wonky stars and yellow centres, maybe a bit of flowery FMQ. I need to get some backing fabric though thinking about Essex Linen or a Kaffe Fassett shot cotton in ice blue…nice!

Linking up with WIP Wednesday over at Freshly Pieced and Thursday Threads at 627 Handworks.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

13 thoughts on “A Lovely Year of Finishes (and Starts!) – July Goals

  1. love love love the liberty and block 16 is my favorite yet! i LOVE it! you are doing such a great job with your tula blocks. i am going to have major envy over your finished quilt!!!

  2. that first block in the happy yellow and blue fabrics – love!
    and that liberty! i have been looking for that first print, “willow”, in green. the red is so pretty, too! careful. liberty is addicting. =)

  3. Sounds like your month is off to a great start! I’m looking forward to seeing your projects grow even if they don’t all get finished during July 🙂

  4. Popping over from a Lovely Year of Finishes. I look forward to seeing how your city sampler turns out and I’m especially intrigued by your plans for the Liberty Fabrics! Can’t wait to check in with you again at the end of the month!

  5. Oh, my. I love that print on the right of your little Liberty stash. I am going to do some serious Tana Lawn-related budgetary damage very soon. Your City Sampler blocks are really coming along nicely!

  6. Wow, your quilt is coming along quickly! And those Liberty prints are lovely 🙂 I’m not an expert on embroidery by any means, but I’d be happy to try and help if you have questions! I can’t really tell what specifics from the photo, but the close stitching that you’ve done so far is very time consuming. Since you’re going for a more abstract design, maybe you could try playing with some more open stitches and stitch texture? Mary Corbet has some great How-To Videos that might give you some ideas!

  7. Pingback: A Lovely Year of Finishes – July | Cloud CouCou Crafts

Leave a Reply

