Journal Quilts – May to August

At the beginning of this year I joined the UK Quilter’s Guild and signed up for the Journal Quilt challenge.

Each month I create a mini quilt that will form part of a collection of 12.

collage - journal quiltsThere are obviously many, many things I could have taken my inspiration from, but I have always been a little obsessed with the stuff that surrounds us.

Key points of inspiration:

  • wabi sabi
  • beauty in the every day
  • learning to love my horrible house!

Quite vague …yes, but to be exact this is the teeny tiny details in mundane everyday things. Therefore rather than focussing on distant dreamlands (which are easy to love) I decided to consider the little worlds waiting to be discovered in what may seem quite ugly household features.

skirting board

This lovely bit of skirting board flipped round with a little imagination became this……

marchAnd these poorly photographed mirrored tiles…..

mirrored tilesLed to this……

janAnd some sketchbook work

sketchbook mountainFor May to August I wanted to try a bit of applique so added some little dome shapes, which was nice to try.

collage may - augThinking of using some EPP for the last ones based on our quite spectactular fireplace that I’m drawn to. Here it is in all its blurry glory!!

fireplaceHoping to get started on something sooner rather than later!!

Linking up with WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

8 thoughts on “Journal Quilts – May to August

  1. what an interesting subject! I would never have thought of something like that, and seeing the pieces at the top of the post, I had no idea what they were, I thought they were improv. Great job!

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year! – ALYoF for January | Cloud CouCou Crafts

Leave a comment