May Goals – I Spy Baby Quilt

I’m getting on with my goals again. Or rather blogging about them, I have actually completed what I said I would I’ve just not written about it.

This month my goal is very simple:

  • Make a floor mat/quilt for my sister’s baby which is due in 2 weeks – eek!

When deciding what to make I knew it had to by fairly simple (my sister likes simple), cute and colourful. No white!

She has been told it’s definitely, definitely a girl so I think I’m pretty safe picking these colours.

i spy blocks 1

One thing I really love is a good novelty fabric. I can while away many an hour sat on my Bloom Bloom Pow spotting all the goings on in the little scenes.

Because of this an I-Spy stylee instantly came to mind as it’s perfect for showing off some cute pics.

lions - i spy

I’m not sure whether to include the two fabrics above as, although super cute, I don’t know if I should limit the colour scheme a little.

What do you think?

Supposed to be on fabric fast, buuut I might have to buy some more novelties, just maybe!

Any suggestions for a background colour are also welcomed. I’ll probably just go for the usual fallback grey again, but we’ll see!!

 

Linking up with ALYoF

A Lovely Year of Finishes

ย and WIP Wednesday with Quokka Quilts

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “May Goals – I Spy Baby Quilt

  1. Super cute fabrics as always! I’m useless when it comes to helping with the background colour… you know i’d go with grey! The lightest grey pearl bracelet would look awesome with what you have so far ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Really great fabrics… It will be a fantastic quilt. I would use the two fabrics if they are not too dominating. They doesn’t seem so on but it can be hard to tell in the picture. Background? I too would probably use a grey too. It will set off the other colors beautifully ๐Ÿ™‚ thank goodness for Wednesday WIP – otherwise I wouldn’t gave discovered your blog.

  3. I love all the colors together! They are soooo cute and the I spy parts are just adorable. The more the better:)

  4. I would definitely use the zoo fabric, not too sure about the other two, and yes, a grey background would go so well with those fabrics.
    I’m sure your sister will love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I love the colors and cute fabrics you are using. I think it would look just as pretty to go with the colors you have now as it would be to add a few more. It’s going to be adorable. I think a soft pale pink background would be pretty.

  6. Now they’re out, I don’t know how you could put them away! You have some great novelty fabrics there, Amy – where are they from? How exciting ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Pingback: I Spy Baby Quilt – ALYoF May | Cloud CouCou Crafts

Leave a Reply

