WIP Wednesday – ATC Swap and back to the City Sampler

Before getting into my current WIPs I just want to share the beautiful textile Artist’s Trading Card that I received the other day as part of the recent swap organised by Ali @ Very Berry Handmade.

Isn’t it gorgeous?

ATC - recieved

The theme this time was ‘autumn’ and what represents this better than a beautiful burgandy leaf. Some serious time must have gone into this as the embroidery is so rich and dense….. you can’t help but want to touch it.

Thanks Alix!

My ATC has also been sent on its way to Jude of cocojude.

my ATC

As you can see, like Alix, leaves were the first thought on my mind and this gave me the perfect chance to try out a new needlepoint technique – leaf stitch.

It’s supposed to reflect the turning of the leaves from crisp green to crunchy red and all the rainbowy-ness in between.

back of ATC

Every time I do some embroidery I remember how much I love it…it’s so relaxing and portable. You don’t need a machine just a needle and thread and your fingers!

I hope it adds a bit of colour to the dreary days we seem to be experiencing at the moment!

The recent completion of the Constellations Quilt means that I’m a little freer to get on with past projects …the main one being the City Sampler.

I’m waaaaay behind with this so have cut the pieces for ten blocks and am aiming to sew three a night.

Here’s where I’m up to so far:

Block 49

block 49

Block 50

block 50

Sadly this one is not quite right. I think it is crying out for a remake but I just can’t face is right now!

Block 51

Block 51

Block 52

Block 52

Block 53

block 53

Block 54

block 54

That’s it for now….

Linking up with Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

9 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday – ATC Swap and back to the City Sampler

  1. Love those blocks, very different fabrics. I have never embroidered but you’re tempting me to try with those delightful leaves!

  2. I’m hard pressed to pick a fave out of your new city sampler blocks, they’re all amazing! I think though that number 53 is my fave!
    And your atc is fantastic, love that stitch!

  3. Pingback: December Goals | Cloud CouCou Crafts

Leave a Reply

