WIP Wednesday – Constellations Quilt

Finally I managed to snap a quick pic of my constellations quilt top!!

And when I say quick I mean quick…..I only just managed it. After only four snaps it started raining ……………. AGAIN!

It’s still going today and will be for the rest of the week. Why oh why!

constellations quilt top

Can you see that little rocket there? That’s my first ever bit of paper piecing …..yay!!

At first I was thinking of including a penguin, but decided that it probably wasn’t the best choice for a first attempt. So after seeing this super cute cushion over at snipssnippets  I searched out the QuietPlay pattern and eventually set about giving it a go.

rocket

Not too shabby for a first try!

When I got started it dawned on me that actually I had no clue how to paper piece. It took me a while to get my head around it but I got there in the end!!

It was a slight surprise to me quite how much fabric was needed so I used more turquoise than I wanted leaving me a fair bit short. I found myself frantically scraping together any pieces I could find, thinking of ways to make them go as far as possible. This is why the rocket is surrounded by a slightly odd shape!!

As you can probably see I have actually got halfway through quilting it now and after some tests I’ve opted for aqua.

close up quilting 2

I’m not sure if this is a good choice or not.

close up quilting

I liked the aqua (being my favourite colour) but was slightly worried about it showing too much on the back….still am! I was leaning towards royal blue for this reason, but my boyfriend seemed to have a serious aversion to this option so thinking maybe he knows something I don’t I’ve gone for the aqua.

I will keep you updated on my progress!

Linking up with WIP wednesday at Freshly Pieced.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

21 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday – Constellations Quilt

  1. It’s always a difficult choice but wouldn’t worry about what it looks like on the back. Have you thought about using variegated blues or changing to a darker blue for the darker fabrics? The aqua looks great here 🙂

  2. Dude it looks fantastic!! You rocket is perfect, i’m so glad you gave it a try! Love your fussy cut astronaut and the pop of yellow! And i love the aqua thread, i think it’s perfect.

  3. Is aqua the third one down? I think it’s the one. I think dark thread tends to showcase all the tiny little things we don’t want people to see in our FMQ. Any tension issue, any “long” stitches, any place where the needle doesn’t go back down where it’s supposed to–shows much more clearly in dark thread. Aqua! Aqua!

    I lurve this quilt top, so, so much. I think it’s a great use of Constellations, a line I love but didn’t really know what to do with (so I didn’t buy much). Your paper-pieced rocket ship is a perfect, cute addition! Balances the design very well. Your nephew is going to love this.

  4. I always regret it when I ask my husband for advice. He doesn’t seem to understand that I really just want him to confirm what I was already thinking. 😉

    The aqua will be lovely though! It’s a hard choice with so many colors going on.

  5. Pingback: Constellations Quilt – Finally Photos!! | Cloud CouCou Crafts

Leave a Reply

