A Lovely Year of Finishes – October Goals

This month I have one rather large-ish goal and a couple of little ones.

My main goal is to finish my nephew’s quilt.  We’re going over the end of the month so it should must be done by then.

close up - star quilt

I don’t think that’s too big an ask as I have it all worked out in my mind which is the main thing!

In the end after taking on board everyone’s brrrilliant comments I invested in not one, but four…yes four…. Aurifil threads – Aqua, Silver, Royal Blue and Navy.

aurifil thread

Also I went for a flannel backing in Sketch charcoal. It was hard to find something I felt would fit with the front. I didn’t want it to be heavily patterned but I did want it to withstand wear and tear plus A LOT of dirt!!

threads - flannel

I like the charcoal and I love sketch so it’s all good and will be even better once I’ve added a few details.

Now, remember this…….?

coucou ATC finished

Well, my second goal of the month is the October Artist Trading Card Swap hosted by Ali at VeryBerryHandmade. The theme this time is Autumn so we’ll see what I come up with. I have at least one idea….. which is good!

Textile ATC swap 2 button

Then thirdly it’s to piece together the rectangle bits for the front of my Mum’s next Pillow Pop cushion. (Can’t find the pic of these..sorry!!)

Right that’s it for this month.

While you’re here why not check out my first giveaway, you may be as lucky as I’ve been this last week.

Plus in case you’re interested there is a super new way to build your stash with the Village Haberdashery.

vss-logo

Sign up for the year or on a month by month basis and you will receive a lovely pile of stash builders to your door based on a different colour each month. There are a range of options so why not have a look.

Now I really am going…bye!!

Linking up with A Lovely Year of Finishes over at Sew Bitter Sweet Designs and Fibre of All Sorts.

b1180-2013btn600

and Fresh Sewing Day at Lily’s Quilts.

Lily's Quilts

7 thoughts on “A Lovely Year of Finishes – October Goals

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing your nephew’s quilt finished. I love the thread shades you’ve chosen and the sketch flannel is the perfect backing 🙂

  2. Sketch is always a winner, can’t wait to see the finished quilt. Also looking forward to seeing your ATC, they all looked amazing in the last swap.

Leave a Reply

