Pillow Popping!

This one has certainly been a long, long, long time coming.

Although I’ve thrown in a couple of pics here and there I just haven’t had time to write a full post until today….. the day I finally finished, woo hoo!

Here’s a bit of background ………

Before the summer happened my mum mentioned that she might like me to make her a couple of new cushions. I’m not quite sure how serious about this she really was, but after some badgering and persistent pulling out of the fabrics and ‘pillow pop’ she came round.

The cushions (sorry I just can’t call them pillows!) my mum chose were Urban Seaweed and Garden District (currently WIP).

So this is where I was up to last.

pillow pop - squares

Then I came to a bit of a standstill.

Thankfully I managed to overcome this and I my mum now has a lovely new quilted cushion with another on its way.

pillow pop - garden

This was an easy make and would have been pretty fast if it weren’t for my rather long pause. It’s a great pattern for using scraps and most of these fabrics came from bits and pieces I had left over so I was happy to be able to put them to good use.

close up of urban seaweed

The solids strips are osnaberg, the remnants of this cushion. Although quite a loose texture I love its slubbiness and the fabric is fine once quilted, however I opted for Kona on the back as I wanted something more robust.

cushion back - urban seaweed

I also chose to bind the cushion rather than having raw edges on the inside.

Close up of pillow pop garden

As always I’m praying it doesn’t fall apart!

Cushion Stats

Pattern: Urban Seaweed from Pillow Pop compiled by Heather Bostic

Size: 19.5″ x 19.5″ (it was meant to be 20 x 20 but I trimmed it down a bit)

Front Fabrics

  • Les Amis
  • Chicopee
  • 2wenty Thr3e – Fox Trot
  • Kokka – Horse Play
  • Anna Maria Horner – Good Folks Filigree, Field Study Mind’s Eye, Pastry Line voile
  • Osnaberg

Backing Fabrics: Kona Cotton in Celery and Khaki

Quilting: Straight line quilted by me!

Here it is in its new home, aah… I hope you’re happy pillow pop.

pillow pop in new home

21 thoughts on “Pillow Popping!

  1. Pingback: Pillow Popping! | Love All Blogs

  2. Pingback: A Lovely Year of Finishes – September | Cloud CouCou Crafts

  3. Pingback: A Lovely Year of Finishes – October Goals | Cloud CouCou Crafts

  4. Pingback: WIP Wednesday!! | Cloud CouCou Crafts

Leave a Reply

