241 tote bag….. plus some WIPs for Wednesday

Let’s start with something different this time!

Remember this…………

fabric 241

Well it’s now this 241 tote……………………..yay!

241 tote bag

I didn’t use the chicopee red voltage dot in the end. Instead I went with Cuzco, Tsuru and Architextures and I love it! So much so that I’m going to make another one for me as this bag is a birthday present for my friend. I think I’ll change the fabrics a little as I hate making the same thing twice, but I will get some more Tsuru and probably stick with similar colours. Can’t wait…I really enjoyed making this and it was pretty pain free as I didn’t make any major mistakes… let’s just hope it doesn’t fall apart when used!

Excuse my massive hands in this photo!

241 tote bag

Other than that I’m still working on the Bloom Bloom Pow.

As I mentioned in my last post I have finished the piecing which I found pretty difficult and the points are a bit hit and miss in places. Some of the seams were rather bulky so even though I was pinning like crazy using two pins to try and keep the fabric in place it still shifted when sewing. Anyhow I’m proud of myself for going back and fixing them as best I could and I got better as I went on.

close up bloom bloom pow

My backing fabrics have arrived so very excited to get started on creating this. I think I’m going to use a mix of greys with the bloom fabrics I used on the top. Have ordered lots of Kona Solids Ash then some Medium grey, Charcoal and Quilter’s Linen in grey.

backing fabric bbp

And finally the wrap skirt is still on the go!

I did think it would be finished last night, but the yoke was a bit bigger than the main skirt and I’m not happy with the finish now it’s attached so I need to get the seam ripper out and maybe reduce the size of the yoke slightly…fun, fun, fun!

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

8 thoughts on “241 tote bag….. plus some WIPs for Wednesday

  1. I’ve been meaning the pick up the 241 pattern, your finished bag looks awesome! I love the fabrics you picked. And your Bloom Bloom Pow blocks are lovely!

  2. Lovely bag. Your Bloom Bloom Pow looks good to me. Pretty fabrics. Looking forward to seeing the backing you make and the quilting … 🙂 Pat

  3. This bag is so pretty Amy, I love the fabrics…

    I’d like to congratulate you on winning the **Super Sweet Blogging Award**
    To receive this award, simply copy and paste my post (under Super Sweet Blogging Award entry) at http://www.thepolkadotroom.wordpress.com/ follow the rules, and spread some sweetness of your own! Thanks for being so fabulous!! Kate x

  4. Pingback: Finishing Up For May! | Cloud CouCou Crafts

Leave a Reply

