Bloom Bloom Pow Quilt Along!

I can’t say that the past few days have been the most productive in the creative sense, but I can say that I have ‘met’ (is that right? I don’t know!) lots of lovely bloggers through Lily’s blog meet and the Plum and June Monday Link up.

What’s more as a result of all this blog hopping I have found a great new Quilt Along happening over at freshlypieced. I’ve been looking for a bigger project for a while now, but not so big as to be over facing for a beginner like me and this one seems perfect.

It’s called Bloom Bloom Pow…. see:

Bloom Bloom Pow Quilt-Along at Freshly Pieced

This week it’s the fabric cutting stage of the Quilt Along . However, I’ve spent most of the week choosing my fabrics resulting in many many wasted hours trawling the internet!

Unfortunately, as far as I’m aware, there isn’t a shop selling fabric (I actually want to buy) anywhere near my house. This means I have to spend hours looking at pictures of fabrics trying to work out what they look like in real rather than computer life, hence the wasted time. I visit online shops first to find fabrics, then I search for photos of the fabrics to get a better idea of the colour, but it still never seems quite right.  After all this I usually forget what I’ve looked at and where it was from then end up starting all over again, such fun!

I know I can send for a sample but I’m always so impatient to get started and as I never buy in very large quantities I tend not to worry too much about it. This time though I have made myself be more methodical and now have a number of nice fabric combinations saved on my computer.  I was torn between a brown, pink and yellow combo as suggested by my boyfriend, some kona solid rainbow type mix or pastely colours with some bright highlights, which is what I went for. I want something nice and light for Spring …….if it ever arrives!

In the end I decided on……..

I have an image in my mind of the colours, let’s hope that’s what I get.

They are on their way right now……………very excited to see them!
//

Leave a Reply

