Let’s Get Acquainted New Blogger Blog Hop 2013

So now it’s my turn, welcome to the land of Cloud Coucou!!

Wow! Who’d have thought a few months ago that I’d be involved in something like this…certainly not me!  Before I start I really must say a big thank you to Beth for organising the whole hop, link ups like these have been a massive motivator for me and it’s great to meet so many supportive people, so thanks Beth!!

Right, first an awkward photo!

nice to meet you

Now time to answer some of the questions I often ask myself.

Who am I?

Well, what can I tell you about myself…..I’m Amy and I live in Wales with my boyfriend, our daughter (little O) and her furry sister Suki YumYum. I work for a charity by day and do crafty stuff by night.

dad and little OHow did you get started?

Years ago I studied art and then film/art/design history, but have never really done anything with it. However, over the past couple of years I’ve been trying out various crafts and was drawn into quilting Christmas last year when I stumbled across a kit. I took the plunge, ordered it and set about making my first quilt. This was the result:

my first quilt

My daughter wasn’t amazingly impressed with it….it was no match for Crystal Cat…….but I was and the quilting obsession pretty much went from there starting with cushions……..

chevron cushion

It’s some kind of fluke that so many of the points are intact in this one as I did not know a thing about cutting and piecing when I made it. I think if it had gone horribly wrong that may have been the end of my quilting interest, but it was obviously meant to be!!

Why did you start blogging?

I set up the blog to keep myself motivated and as a record of my progress… little did I realise that there was a whole new world out there. I truly can’t believe the amount of great people I’ve met and I really think that has kept me going.

I wish I could show you a pile of quilts here, but hey it’s early days!

PicMonkey Collage

1. 241 tote 2. kokka stamped wash bag 3. make up bag 4. patchwork cushion
5. embroidered felt 6. market day bag 7. quilted trivet

If you have a browse of my blog you’ll see that my work is not just quilting…I like to mix things up a little to prevent boredom from kicking in….so I add some felting, embroidery, sewing etc. My aim is to start combining these elements in future projects to create less structured more relaxed I suppose quirky items. We’ll see how that goes!!

So what about the name?

It was super hard to pick a name and I came up with like a million suggestions, but Cloud CouCou seemed to reflect what I’m about – clashing colours, patterns, texture and the slightly surreal. Many people would also say I have my head in the clouds!

machine embroidery

I am heavily influenced by travel, landscapes, architecture and generally the stuff that surrounds us. For me although we are so often drawn to the great and the grand it is more often the details that count. I want to highlight those details to create new worlds through fabric – a cloud coucou land.

This rather sketchy sketch reflects the beginnings of one such world!

sketch - mountain

What have you been up to recently?

Most recently I have finished what I call my first ‘proper’ quilt. Proper because I made it completely from scratch. Although there were many hurdles I got there in the end and now I get to snuggle in my very own  Bloom Bloom Pow.

bloom bloom pow finished

At the moment I’m working on a few things, the City Sampler sew along being one and a new Quilting Bee being another, this is where I’m up to with that…

Strip Bees - middle blocks 2

…check back later to see the finished strip!

Questions for you!

As a new blogger there are a few things I struggle with so any help would be really appreciated.

  • How do you cut a long piece of fabric (like the one above) and keep it straight?
  • What’s the best way to tackle bulky seams?
  • What should I do when my bobbin gets low on thread? I tend to find my tension goes a bit funny when the thread is low, but there’s still enough left to keep sewing so I don’t want to waste it. Also sometimes my needle picks up the other end of the bobbin thread that was tucked away before…any tips?

So that’s it from me, if that wasn’t enough info about me you can read some random facts about me here and here.

Here’s the full blog hop list, go and check out some of the other posts….

Friday, June 7th

Amy @ 13 Spools
Casey @ The Studiolo
June 14
Julie @ Jolie Maxtin
Adrianne @ On The Windy Side
Valerie @ Between Quilts
Friday, June 21
Leigh Anne @ Ella’s Cottage
Sarah @ Quilt Candy
Jackie @ NW Patchwork
Erica @ Happy Fabric
Stephanie @ Simple Sewendipity
Lauren @ Seraphym
Friday, June 28
Green @ So Sew Green
Gwendellyn @ The Rainbow Revolts
Michelle @ Factotum Of Arts
Kris @ Sew Sunshine
Camilla @ Faffling
Friday, July 5
Christa @ Christa Quilts!
Stephanie @ Quarter Incher
 July 12
Anne @ PlayCrafts
Christen @ Love by Hand
Julie @ 627handworks
July 19
Aylin @ AyliN-Nilya
Kelsey and Amanda @ Everyday Fray
July 26
RobinSue @ RobinSue Quilts
Elisa Lea @ Lovelea Designs
Elizabeth @ In The Boon Docks
Emily @ Sew E.T.

Em @ Sewing by Moonlight

54 thoughts on “Let’s Get Acquainted New Blogger Blog Hop 2013

  1. Hi Amy! I’m on the blog hop too, just playing a bit of catchup, so much hopping my left leg got tired! It’s nice to see other people coming from an artistic background too because they always have a different perspective. Oh, and I’ve got a Bloom Bloom Pow in the works too. Wasn’t it so much fun? Love the design! I think I’ll follow along now.

  2. Love your fabric choices for the Bloom Bloom Pow quilt! I wish I could help you out with your questions, but I’m fairly new at this myself. I’d love for you to post an update with any good answers you get.

  3. Great post! Love your work! It is interesting to hear what inspires people and then see their work, so thank you for sharing that! In answer to your question on cutting a long piece of fabric I will usually iron it all flat and then iron very straight folds into it and then cut from there. After some practice your results get better and better.

Leave a Reply

